1. Australia has 56 different species of Kangaroos & Wallabies (6 species already extinct)

  2. They vary in size from the massive Red Kangaroo down to the Monjon Rock Wallaby.

  3. Kangaroos and wallabies are referred to as "Macropods", which literally means "big foot". They have been aptly named considering the average size of their feet!

  4. In Tropical North Queensland, the main species that we come into contact with include -Joeys have been known to live for up to 10 days in their dead mother's pouch. That's why it is very important to ensure that you always check any pouches of injured or dead macropods.

    • Agile Wallaby (Macropus agilis)
    • Swamp Wallaby (Wallabia bicolor)
    • Whiptail Wallaby (Macropus parryi)
    • Common Wallaroo (Macropus robustus)
    • Eastern Grey Kangaroo (Macropus giganteus)
    • Red legged Pademelon (Thylogale stigmatica stigmatica)
  5. All orphaned Joeys require specialist care which includes specialised diets, set feeding routines, toileting after each feed and adequate "pouching". Pinky Joeys also need to be kept at a constant temperature of around 32° Celcius.

  6. Under no circumstances should orphaned Joeys be fed on cow's milk or supplements containing lactose. Macropods are lactose intolerant and prolonged feeding using products containing lactose can cause blindness.

Join The Discussion

Add Your Comments

(Required, not publicised)